PSYCHOLOGY TALKS & COLLOQUIAWinter 2015Spring 2015

 

In addition to the psychology department colloquia, we have weekly brown bag lunch talks at noon in our Goldman Library, to which everyone is invited. The developmental psychology area lunches meet on Mondays, the cognitive psychology lunches meet on Wednesdays, and the social/personality psychology lunches meet on Thursdays. Contact the psychology department or relevant faculty for further details.

All Talks & Colloquia: Winter 2015

Wed. Jan. 7
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
No Coglunch
Area faculty meeting
 
Thu. Jan. 8
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Variations in Narratives as a Function of Assessment Method
Tara McCoy
 
Mon. Jan. 12
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Social Relationships and Health in Later Life
Dr. Laura Zettel-Watson
CSU Fullerton
 
Wed. Jan. 14
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Golden or Graying? Economic decisions and cognitive aging
Ye Li
UCR
 
Thu. Jan. 15
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Quantifying the Strength of Situations
Patrick Morse
 
Mon. Jan. 19
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
MLK Holiday
LOCATION:
 
Wed. Jan. 21
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
The power of expectations: examples in visual perception and decision-making
Peggy Seriès
Institute for Adaptive and Neural Computation, Edinburgh, UK
 
Thu. Jan. 22
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Humility, Self-Affirmation, and Self-Serving Attributions
Peter Ruberton
 
Mon. Jan. 26
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Professional Development: How to Write Effectively
Drs. Liz Davis, John Franchak, & Misaki Natsuaki
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Jan. 28
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cognitive Functions of the Prefrontal Cortex
Joaquin Fuster
UCLA
 
Thu. Jan. 29
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Students' Personality, Daily Activities, and Engagement in University Life
Kristina Mouzakis
 
Mon. Feb. 2
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Utilizing Cognitive Training in the School Setting: Potential to Impact the School Experience?
Dr. Eugene Wong
CSU San Bernardino
 
Wed. Feb. 4
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Exploring mechanisms of visual attention through brain electrophysiology
Steven Hillyard
UCSD
 
Thu. Feb. 5
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Gratitude and Self-Improvement in the Workplace
Christina Armenta
 
Mon. Feb. 9
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Neural Representation of Friendships and Family in the Adolescent Brain
Dr. Adriana Galvan
UCLA
 
Wed. Feb. 11
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cognitive networks and the noisy brain
Bradley Voytek
UCSD
 
Thu. Feb. 12
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Family Relationships and Health: Insights from Intensive Repeated Measures
Dr. Ted Robles
UCLA
 
Mon. Feb. 16
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
President's Day Holiday
 
Wed. Feb. 18
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Shared Circuits, Action Understanding, and Motor Learning
Lisa Aziz-Zadeh
USC
 
Thu. Feb. 19
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Perceived Disease Risk and Genetic Testing Decisions
Brittany Bannon
 
Mon. Feb. 23
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Dr. Jutta Heckhausen
UC Irvine
 
Wed. Feb. 25
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
TBA
John P O'Doherty
Caltech
 
Thu. Feb. 26
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
SPSP: No Brownbag
 
Mon. Mar. 2
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Dr. Kathleen Preston
CSU Fullerton
 
Wed. Mar. 4
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Secrets of healthy minds: What neuroimaging has revealed about cognitive aging
Denise Park
UT Dallas
 
Thu. Mar. 5
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Implicit Theories of Intelligence and Self-Handicapping
Melissa Christian
 
Mon. Mar. 9
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
TBD
Dr. Jessica Borelli
Pomona College
 
Wed. Mar. 11
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Mood-dependent Retrieval in Visual Long-term Memory
Weizhen Xie
UCR
 
Thu. Mar. 12
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Considering the Role of Smiling in the Happiness-Health Association
Dr. Sarah Pressman
UC Irvine
 
Wed. Mar. 18
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Functional specialization of human medial temporal lobe subregions: contributions from high-resolution MRI
Michael Yassa
UCI