PSYCHOLOGY TALKS & COLLOQUIASpring 2015

 

In addition to the psychology department colloquia, we have weekly brown bag lunch talks at noon in our Goldman Library, to which everyone is invited. The developmental psychology area lunches meet on Mondays, the cognitive psychology lunches meet on Wednesdays, and the social/personality psychology lunches meet on Thursdays. Contact the psychology department or relevant faculty for further details.

All Talks & Colloquia: Spring 2015

Wed. Apr. 1
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
How to train inhibition?
Russell Cohen
UCR
 
Thu. Apr. 2
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Nonverbal Perception and Interpersonal Accuracy in the Brunswik Lens Model
Dr. Nora Murphy
Loyola Marymount University
 
Mon. Apr. 6
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
East-West Sociocultural Influences on Affective Regulation and Experience: Their Mechanisms and Consequences
Dr. Brooke Wilken
University of Wisconsin-Maddison
 
Wed. Apr. 8
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Attentional modulation of neuronal response gain and variability
John Reynolds
Salk Institute
 
Thu. Apr. 9
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
From Awful to Awe-Full: Easing the Discomfort of Uncertain Waiting Periods
Sara Andrews
 
Mon. Apr. 13
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Neonatal Health and Health Care Decision Making in Bangladesh: Evidence from the Rang-Din Nutrition Study
Dr. Joseph Cummins
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Apr. 15
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Is more brain bumpiness better ? Evaluating the relationship between cortical folding and IQ and reading ability
David Vazquez
UCR
 
Thu. Apr. 16
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Military Veteran Adjustment to Civilian Life
Jennifer Coons
 
Mon. Apr. 20
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Parenting Effects are in the Eye of the Beholder: Differences in Perceptions Predict Adolescent Externalizing
Laura Dimler
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Apr. 22
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Collision detection in cluttered driving scenes
Carissa Lemon
UCR
 
Wed. Apr. 22
12:50PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Is napping a trainable skill that can be optimized for memory consolidation
Lizzie McDevitt
UCR
 
Thu. Apr. 23
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Cultivating Healthy Trajectories
Dietlinde Heilmayr
 
Mon. Apr. 27
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Staying flexible under pressure: The effects of cumulative risk and physiological dysregulation on cognitive control and emotion regulation
Laura Quinones-Camacho
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Apr. 29
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Spatial attention, visual perception, and endogenous brain activity
Michael Silver
UC Berkeley
 
Thu. Apr. 30
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
You Got What I Need(ed): Social Support Seeking and Satisfaction During the Waiting Period
Mike Dooley
 
Mon. May. 4
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Daniel Harmon
UC Riverside
 
Wed. May. 6
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cross-modal Talker Learning (Second year research)
Dominique Simmons
UCR
 
Thu. May. 7
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Area Faculty-Only Meeting
 
Mon. May. 11
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Anondah Saide
UC Riverside
 
Wed. May. 13
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Visual Attention, Video Games, and Perceptual Learning (Second year research)
Ted Jacques
UCR
 
Thu. May. 14
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Insights from Immigrant Cultures: Benefits for Relationships and Health
Dr. Belinda Campos
UC Irvine
 
Mon. May. 18
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Parisa Parsafar
UC Riverside
 
Wed. May. 20
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
What can Phonemic Restoration and Selective Adaption Tell Us About Multisensory Integration? (Second year research)
Josh Dorsi-Todaro
UCR
 
Thu. May. 21
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Cross-cultural Comparison of Daily Behavior and Personality
Erica Baranski
 
Mon. May. 25
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Memorial Day Holiday
 
Wed. May. 27
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
A Two-trace Model for Iconic Memory (Second year research)
Marcus Cappiello
UCR
 
Thu. May. 28
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Justifying Expectations of the Future: The Content, Correlates, and Temporal Pattern of Explanations for Performance Predictions
Angelica Falkenstein
 
Mon. Jun. 1
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Dianna Phillips
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Jun. 3
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Sleep-dependent heart rate variability and creativity (Second year research)
Lauren Whitehurst
UCR
 
Thu. Jun. 4
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Behavioral Consistency and Adaptability across Situations
Kyle Sauerberger
 
Wed. Jun. 10
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
TBA
Harold Pashler
UCSD