PSYCHOLOGY TALKS & COLLOQUIAWinter 2016Spring 2016

 

In addition to the psychology department colloquia, we have weekly brown bag lunch talks at noon in our Goldman Library, to which everyone is invited. The developmental psychology area lunches meet on Mondays, the cognitive psychology lunches meet on Wednesdays, and the social/personality psychology lunches meet on Thursdays. Contact the psychology department or relevant faculty for further details.

All Talks & Colloquia: Winter 2016

Mon. Jan. 4
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
CANCELLED
 
Wed. Jan. 6
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cancelled (Cog Area Faculty meeting)
 
Thu. Jan. 7
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Lay Conceptions of Volitional Personality Change: From Strategies Used to Stories Told
Erica Baranski
 
Mon. Jan. 11
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
TBA
May Ling Halim
California State University, Long Beach
 
Wed. Jan. 13
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cancelled (Cog area faculty meeting)
 
Thu. Jan. 14
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
The Evaluation of a S.T.E.M. Program for Underrepresented Minority Middle School Students
Melissa Christian
 
Mon. Jan. 18
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
NO BB (MLK DAY)
 
Wed. Jan. 20
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Training Inhibitory Control
Russell Cohen
UCR
 
Thu. Jan. 21
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Kyle Sauerberger
 
Mon. Jan. 25
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Digital Media and development: The relation between electronic communication and well-being
Kaveri Subrahmanyam
California State University, Los Angeles
 
Wed. Jan. 27
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Why people say what they say?
Jessica Montag
UCR
 
Thu. Jan. 28
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
No brown bag
 
Mon. Feb. 1
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
How genomes develop: The epigenetic interface between genes and environments
David Moore
Pitzer College
 
Wed. Feb. 3
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Top-down and bottom-up cortical networks in human visual perception
Edward Ester
UCSD
 
Thu. Feb. 4
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
The Challenge of Debunking Myths: When Weird Ideas Feel True
Dr. Norbert Schwarz
USC
 
Mon. Feb. 8
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Childrenís Testimonial Learning: Understanding Sources of Protection and Vulnerability
Melissa Koenig
University of Minnesota
 
Wed. Feb. 10
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Behavioral and neural mechanisms of statistical learning and implicit attention in infants and adults
Richard Aslin
University of Rochester
 
Thu. Feb. 11
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Expressing Gratitude Towards Self vs. Others
Christina Armenta
 
Mon. Feb. 15
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
NO BB (WASHINGTON'S BIRTHDAY)
 
Wed. Feb. 17
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
The Demise of Short-Term Memory? Not Yet
weiwi zhang
UCR
 
Thu. Feb. 18
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Digging into the Health-Promoting Components of Gardening
Dietlinde Heilmayr
 
Mon. Feb. 22
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
The Development of Racial Bias
Gizelle Anzures
University of California, San Diego
 
Wed. Feb. 24
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Title TBA
Josh Dorsi
UCR
 
Thu. Feb. 25
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Jennifer Coons
 
Mon. Feb. 29
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Gedeon DeŠk
University of California, San Diego
 
Wed. Mar. 2
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Title TBA
Ted Jacques
UCR
 
Thu. Mar. 3
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
Learning from Couples Who are not White, College Educated, and Middle-Class
Dr. Benjamin Karney
UCLA
 
Mon. Mar. 7
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Title TBA
Scott Johnson
University of California, Los Angeles
 
Wed. Mar. 9
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Cancelled (Cog Area Faculty meeting)
 
Thu. Mar. 10
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Michael Dooley