PSYCHOLOGY TALKS & COLLOQUIAFall 2018Winter 2019

 

In addition to the psychology department colloquia, we have weekly brown bag lunch talks at noon in our Goldman Library, to which everyone is invited. The developmental psychology area lunches meet on Mondays, the cognitive psychology lunches meet on Wednesdays, and the social/personality psychology lunches meet on Thursdays. Contact the psychology department or relevant faculty for further details.

All Talks & Colloquia

Mon. Jan. 8
12:00PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Embodied brains, social minds, cultural meaning: Interdisciplinary, developmental research on social emotions
Mary Helen Immordino-Yang
USC
 
Wed. Jan. 10
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
canceled (Cog Area faculty meeting)
 
Thu. Jan. 11
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Lisa Walsh
UCR
 
Mon. Jan. 15
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
No seminar
MLK Day
 
Wed. Jan. 17
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
The consequences of second language experience for category learning
Emily Mech
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Jan. 18
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Steve Clark
UCR
 
Mon. Jan. 22
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
No seminar
Area meeting
 
Wed. Jan. 24
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
The role of the hippocampus in non-conscious processing of memory
Richard Addante
CSU-SB
 
Thu. Jan. 25
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Kyla Rankin
UCR
 
Mon. Jan. 29
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
A multimodal imaging approach to understanding sex hormones and the developing brain
Megan Herting
USC Keck School of Medicine
 
Wed. Jan. 31
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Shared timelsot (click to see details)
Alessandra McDowell/Christian Navarro-Torres
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Feb. 1
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Keith Payne
UNC Chapel Hill
 
Mon. Feb. 5
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Grappling with goodness in infancy and childhood
Arber Tasimi
Stanford
 
Wed. Feb. 7
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Shared timelsot (click to see details)
Marcus Cappiello/ Russell Cohen Hoffing
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Feb. 8
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Will Gervais
University of Kentucky
 
Mon. Feb. 12
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
TBA
Rashmita Mistry
UCLA
 
Wed. Feb. 14
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
cancelled
 
Thu. Feb. 15
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Komi German
UCR
 
Mon. Feb. 19
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
No seminar
President’s day
 
Wed. Feb. 21
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Effects of concurrent physical effort on working memory and cognitive control
Weizhen Xie
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Feb. 22
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Julia Revord
UCR
 
Mon. Feb. 26
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
TBA
Michael Perino
University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
 
Wed. Feb. 28
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Ideomotor Theory: Basics and its contribution to explaining multitasking problems.
Markus Janczyk
University of Tübingen
 
Mon. Mar. 5
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Iconicity and convention in the manual modality: Perspectives on development and evolution
Erica Cartmill
UCLA
 
Wed. Mar. 7
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
Shared timelsot (click to see details)
Kieu Nguyen/Iman Feghhi
UC Riverside
 
Thu. Mar. 8
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Seth Margolis
UCR
 
Mon. Mar. 12
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Professional development: public speaking workshop
Annika Speer
UC Riverside
 
Wed. Mar. 14
12:10PM
Cognitive Brown Bag
panel discussion on research in government and industrial settings
Marcus Johnson/ Todd Kelley/ Steven Thurman
SR Research Limited, EyeLink/ Microsoft/ Army Research Labs
 
Thu. Mar. 15
12:10PM
Social/Personality Brown Bag
TBD
Alex Leung
UCR
 
Mon. Mar. 19
12:10PM
Developmental Brown Bag
Developmental plasticity: crisis and opportunity
Marco del Giudice
University of New Mexico